Student Medal Project 2022 Prize winners

Student Medal Project 2022 Prize winners

Student Medal Project 2022 Prize winners


Announcing the results of judging for this year’s Student Medal Project

This is the 29th year of the Student Medal Project, and a record twenty UK colleges/universities participated plus the invited university, Pforzheim, in Germany,  resulting in 148 UK student works with 12 from Germany (plus a number of works by teachers).  The British Art Medal Society congratulates you all; the standard was very high and the art of the medal is alive and well and absolutely flourishing here.  No other country has seen such accomplishment by student artists, in terms of learning the skills connected to the bronze casting of contemporary art medals.  Thanks particularly to the Goldsmiths’ Centre for financial support in administering the Project.

The judges for this year were: Kate Harrison (artist/medal maker/jeweller); Gregory Fattorini (prize sponsor); Jessica Ihejetoh (art administrator); Janet Larkin (British Museum curator, Secretary BAMS); Marcy Leavitt Bourne (Director, Project). 

The exhibition list will be finalised shortly, and this will be sent to colleges, with invitations to Winners and Merits to attend on 11th March at the New Ashgate Gallery in Farnham, Surrey.  There will be a Zoom prize giving, date yet to be decided.

The list below is of the Winners and those who received ‘Merit’.  The details of the prizes (and how the prize money for all of them will be sent to students), will be given individually to the colleges.  At a later date there will be brief critiques of all the works sent to the teachers to share with their students. 

All Winners will be made members of BAMS for one year, receiving the Medal journal, and invitations to talks and events.

The Top Two  Prizes:

Grand First Prize:  Presented by the Worshipful Company of Founders (£1000) –

Jana Griffiths, Interloper, University for the Creative Arts, Farnham.  The Worshipful Company will sponsor the casting of this medal for their collection.

Grand Second Prize:  Presented by Thomas Fattorini Ltd (£500) –

Jessica Troje-Tuck, Sleeping Foxes, Falmouth University.

To see all the medals of all the prize winners listed here head over to our Instagram page

Other Prizes:

‘Best Guest Prize’, to the top medal from the guest university, given by Pangolin Editions:

Lissy Sophie Ossig, Extinction, University of Pforzheim.

For best lettering, the Ditchling Prize:  Jakub Odoszewski, HOPE, Glasgow Kelvin College.

Prize given by the Worshipful Company of Tin Plate Workers alias Wire Workers: Eliza Smith, Save Our Seeds, West Dean College of Art & Conservation.  The Worshipful Company will purchase this medal for their collection.                                                      

Prize given by G W Lunt:  Yay-an Davies, Goodbye Northern White Rhino, Falmouth University.

Prize given by the Worshipful Company of Cutlers (a ‘cutting edge’ medal):  Imogen Hales, Break the Ice, Breathe, Glasgow School of Art.

The ‘Herbie Prize’ for best political medal/contemporary statement; there are two winners for this prize in 2022:

Joanne Grogan, For the Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House, City & Guilds of London Art School.

Leo Langer, Peace is Under-Funded, University of Pforzheim.

The Michael Roberts Memorial Prize: Nina Srdanovic, The Meme, Central Saint Martins , University of the Arts London.

The Bigbury Mint Honourable Mention, a Cast Tin Paperweight from the Mint:  Keumala Irina Sukma, Common Thread, Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts, London.

The Kate Harrison Award:  An arranged visit to an artist’s studio for discussion about studio processes, Lucy Smith,  Precession:  Seeing the Unseen, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design.

Merits have been awarded for excellent work, medals that were close to winning prizes and deserve to be mentioned.

Augusta Lazenby,  Only Dead Fish Go With the Flow, Birmingham City University.

Elliot Birt, Black Gold, Fool’s Gold, Leeds Arts University.

Hannah Archer, Hook Line and Sinker, Leeds Arts University.

Jo Bellamy, Between Borders, Norwich University of the Arts.

Judith Letchford, Festina Lente, City & Guilds of London Art School.

Magdalena Schiesser, Pressure Stress Tension, University of Pforzheim.

Molly Ashton, Fragility of Nature,  Swansea College of Art, University of Wales Trinity St David.

Olivia Augusta Fussenegger, We Have it in OUR Hands, Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts, London.

Tia Dunn, Scared Headless, Leeds Arts University.

Yuzhe Zhang, Two Metres, Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts, London.

Congratulations once again on a superb showing. 

Marcy Leavitt Bourne (Director, Student Medal Project)