Student Medal Project 2016

Student Medal Project 2016

Student Medal Project 2016


We are very pleased to announce the ten winners of this year’s Student Medal Project, selected from 132 entries.

Liz Dew, from City of Glasgow College, received the Bigbury Mint prize with her Successive Forms, inspired by Barbara Hepworth’s sculpture for the United Nations’ Headquarters in New York.

Dario Russo from Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design at the University of Dundee received the Pangolin Prize with this untitled medal inspired by the Greek hero and slayer of monsters, Bellerophon.

Fay Palkimas from Carmarthen School of Art received the Eric Gill Society Prize for lettering with a medal titled My Mother Told Me, reminding you that what’s small is also beautiful.

Romane Cossin, from France, got the best “guest college” entry and Niagara Falls Prize with “Gotlib”, a medal celebrating one of the great names of French Bande Dessinée.

Hongzhi Zhu, from Edinburgh University, received the Lunts Castings Prize for her medal about the contemplative but also euphoric nature of dog walking.

Monique Jeffery Jones, from Truro and Penwith College, received the Herbie Prize for Political Commentary with her Hope medal, which reflects on the current refugee crisis.

Zoe Pearce, from Falmouth College of Art, received the Tin Plate Company prize with It is July on the moorlands … a medal merging the softness of the beach with the meditation of walking.

Evan Moore, Cardiff Metropolitan University: received the Cutting Edge Prize for his untitled piece which plays with the idea of the two sides (or more!) or a medal.

The Second Prize went to Michelle Barlow, from Truro and Penwith College with “Piece of Eight”, a thoughtful consideration of the lives sacrificed to mining.

And the Grand First Prize went to Stephanie Holt, from Birmingham City University’s School of Jewellery, with The Weight of the World (illustrated here), which, at once, explores mental health but also the beguiling tactile qualities of the medal.

Many congratulations to all students and colleges involved and we look forward to seeing next year’s entries.